In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new m some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Marketing business is one of the most profitable sectors because every day new products are released into the market. However, the companies overemphasize the newness of their products using advertisement strategy. In this essay, I will discuss the possible reasons products are being advertised in such a way and the negative impacts it has on consumers. Generally, advertising the product’s newness is a form of marketing strategy to emphasize the product’s novelty to attract attention and make it stand out in a competitive market. Subsequeantly, it would potentially increase sales for the company. Besides, many consumers are driven by the desire to own the latest products as it would provide a sense of status and satisfaction. For instance, almost 70% of young people around the world are proud to own an iphone and some even feel forced to get one in order to fit in with the Apple culture. Apart from that, technological advancement rapid nowadays that makes the products quickly outdated. Therefore, it is necessary to focus on new features to appeal to tech-savvy customers. Consequently, emphasizing the newness of products can contribute to potential downsides such as throwaway cultures and overconsumption. Eventually, this will lead to an increase in products waste around the globe. Moreover, it might also lead to customer dissatisfaction if the new features do not meet the expectation or seem superficial when compared to the advertised products. In conclusion, there should be regulatory bodies to control the advertising on the newness of products in order to protect the consumers and also the environment. End users also must be wise in purchasing products.