In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehical will be passenger. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, technological advancement has developed into various fields around the world. It is believed that transportation vehicles will be driven without drivers in the near future. There are pro and cons to this huge change. I will discuss on the advantages and disadvantages of this shift. To begin with the advantages, road safety can be improved tremendously with the introduction of driverless vehicles. Currently, accident rates are high around the globe and and people die on road accident daily. Therefore, with the utilization of driverless vehicles, human errors such as distracted driver, fatigue and impaired driver can potentially be reduced in many ways. Moreover, people who could not drive due to old age, disability and other reasons would have improved mobility and independence when driverless vehicles are introduced. Not only that, drivers and passengers can now enjoy their travelling time productively and relax as car they can drive themselves once the location is logged in. Correspondingly, there are few disadvantages where numerous bus and truck drivers would lose their jobs. Thus, unemployment rate will considerably increase leading to other social issues. Besides, this change can result in an increase in the number of vehicles there will be on the roads and contribute to traffic congestion as driverless vehicle are more convenient and more people would be tempted to buy. In addition, this would lead to air and noise pollution which is another problem detrimental to society. In conclusion, having driverless cars in the future has its positive and negative impacts but I believe the advantages outweigh the drawbacks as human safety is more important.