Task 2: Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Formal examinations check a student’s level of understanding of the course in a defined time interval. To assess a student’s performance teachers resume to homework and projects, alongside tests. It is disagreed that the only effective way to check a student’s performance is through formal examination. To prove this we consider that every individual has different ways of working and that each way of assesing showcases distinct, but essential skills. Firstly, each individual has distinct traits which influence behavior, thus very different ways of approaching work. For example, a student who studied the material could be an excellent team worker, but terrible at working under time pressure. Such a person is in disadvantage as they would not be able to perform as well in a test, comparative to a project. Using only a formal examination-based assesment method does not give every student the chance to truly show their understanding of the material. Secondly, every method of assessing is focused on a specific and defined skill. For instance, an oral examination gives the student an opportunity to create confidence and practice public speaking techniques. It is important for youths to attain skills other than test taking such that they will be able to handle tasks later on in life. These can be discovered only through a variation of evaluations, making that the more effective alternative. To summarize, it is important to assess students differently than through tests and exams because of the wordly need of distinct skills and abilities that can not be showcased otherwise. Therefore it is clear that, checking one’s performance only through formal examination for effectivity, cannot be supported. After thorough analysis of the subject, it is recommended that educational institutions aproach a dual testing system, containing of formal and continual assesment.