WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, more and more people are facing problems caused by lack of recycling service in their neighborhood. Societies believe that in order to solve this problem, issuance of such legal requirements is impactful for both social and environmental aspects. This essay will elaborate the crucial role of government’s regulation in terms of enhancing the quality of waste-recycling, leading to an increase in public awareness as well as environmental benefit. One major advantage from the issuance of formal regulations related to recycling waste is the growth of awareness for managing wastes within communities. This was due to the presence of stricter regulations that may lead to punishments for non-compliance. For instance, people tend to avoid legal fines by categorizing their garbage bins into degradable or biodegradable wastes more carefully. Hence, there will be no such un-recycled plastics once the representatives do their regular checking. Consequently, people have more consciousness related to the importance of waste management in everyday lives. Furthermore, the government's law enforcement in wastes creates positive impacts towards the area’s environmental aspects as well. Not only increasing the degree of environmental cleanliness, but also balancing the ecosystems biodiversity. For example, reduction of hazardous wastes spilled in soil might improve the nutrition levels contained beneath it, simulating trees to grow in order for birds to build their nest and lay their eggs. The increasing number of birds may benefit the plants in the surrounding neighborhood by eating maggots as their prey. As a result, it will enhance the balance of ecosystems that lies within that area. In conclusion, the government regulations play a potential role in the growth of societies’ recycling activities by enhancing the public’s awareness and the environmental benefits that the public receives. By the end of the day, it is the willingness of the people themselves to manage their waste and the benefits they might attain will become the main factors that drive communities to do recycling on their own.