In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the current era, many buyers can easily find international food products in a specific section. This results in many advantages for the consumer however there are some disadvantages too. I believe that this development is overwhelmingly positive but some caution should be practiced with it. With the increased availability of the global products in the markets, some immigrant communities do not have to worry about their staple diet getting disturbed. Because the native community follows a diet with different ingredients, some foreigners feel pangs of nostalgia when they cannot eat meals what they were consuming in their home countries. To exemplify, some immigrants are vegetarian and some countries do not have much non-animal foods available in their country. So, these supermarkets import different goods from other nations which really helps these individuals to maintain their diet. In contrast, when goods are brought internationally, sometimes food gets rotten or develop germs during transit. In addition, some manufacturers do not follow hygienic practices in the foreign countries which may be a daunting task for the importer country authorities to figure out how to control food products. To exemplify, Canada now imports the food products from foreign origin which takes about many days to travel to the country. Some are returned back due to the chances of bugs in the containers. Thus, it is really crucial to minimize the contamination and maintain the standard of hygiene. In conclusion, bringing food brands from around the world can be helpful for the immigrants who do not want to change their staple diets. On the other hand, it is a challenge for the authorites authority to control such an enormous business. In the end, there are many potential upsides of this development which cannot be ignored and outweigh a few negatives.