In some countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that it is the responsibility of the government to solve the problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days childhood obesity is a burden not only to an individual but to a nation. This has generated an argument where some people suggest national authorities should be responsible for curbing childhood obesity. I agree with this. On the one hand, proponents of the point that government should take responsibility to solve the issue regarding childhood obesity standby this because the future consequence is reduced labour force in a country. This is due to the fact that children are the future of the world. Persons in the overweight category will definitely develop cardiovascular diseases and its complications. For example stroke, diabetes and heart attack. Therefore, a child who grows into an unhealthy adult may not be capable to learn a skilled job and pay taxes as a citizen to his or her country. Also, governing bodies will be burdened to channel funds to the health sector to treat diseases. It is common knowledge that most disease conditions recorded at various hospitals results from people being overweight. Hence, more money will be required to expand wards to cater for the extra patients resulting from obesity. The outcome of such is decreased national revenue for other important projects in the country. In view of these, I support the notion that the leaders of a country should come up with solutions to deal with the issue of kids who are obesed obsessed. However, factors that lead to children who are fat and not fit are very personal reasons such as eating junk meals and reduced exercises. Parents should direct their kids to eat healthy home-made meals and encourage them to exercise. These are very basic and may be difficult for the government to directly influence. To elaborate on this, a publication in the New York Times shows that children who are overweight do not know the effects their lifestyle has on their body and will readily change their ways if taught what to do. Obviously educating children to overcome overweight can be achieved by caretakers and school teachers. To sum up, although there are various avenues to deal with childhood obesity, I believe solutions by the goverment will be the most effective in curbing the situation.