Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals think the goal of advertising is pushing consumers to buy useless products. This essay will, however, provide some reasons why I strongly contend that advertising is supporting consumers to buy what they need. To begin with, ads help consumers save time. From the perspective of consumers, they are overwhelmed with choices for goods and this causes them to waste their time from sorting options, which therefore has resulted in choosing inadequate products. Thus, the consumers can benefit from the information found in advertisement such as testimonials and celebrity endorsements. Secondly, ads help consumers save money. Moving to business owners can illuminate a different perspective. Their priority is maximizing the profits and this consequently requires minimize the expenditure. The discounts and promotional ads allow business owners to purchase cheaper alternatives for same products. Taking all the reasons into consideration, consumers are encouraged to interact with advertisements. In conclusion, some individuals argue that the reason for advertisements is promoting sales of unnecessary products for consumers. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that more considerations of other parties’ facing issues should be taken into account to achieve more sustainable advantages.