Write about the following topic: Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Recently, instead of working for a company or organization, people prefer to be self-employed. I believe this phenomenon happened because self-employed offers great flexibility although it also needs skills and time to achieve a great success. The following paragraph will explain about the reason why people choose to be self-employed along with its disadvantages. To be a self-employed means that people can get flexibility in the way they work. Nowadays, one of the major factors that increase the trend of self-employed is the advancement of technology such as internet. This situation make it possible for individuals such as a freelance designer to find their clients directly from all over the world and connect with them from anywhere. Therefore, people do not need to commute to their office daily so they can save their money and their time for their family. Not to mention that going to the office also requires much energy. Moreover, working in a company also means that employees should follow the rules such as paid leave and overwork which is sometimes very strict and hard to be implemented. However, to be a self-employed requires great efforts especially in the beginning. People need to master certain skills to convince their clients to work with them which is takes certain amount of time. Furthermore, after mastering specific skills, individuals also need to build their branding and reputations through their great portfolios. However, building a great image is not really a simple job because it requires much time, effort, and consistency. Indeed, to get the first customer of is a pretty challenging job. Sometimes, initially, people even offer their skills for free just to get a chance to build their portfolios. Not to mention that the competition is extremely challenging and the payment sometimes is too low especially in the initial year so not all people able to survive and be successful in certain fields. In conclusion, individuals nowadays prefer to be self-employed because it offers flexibility but it also requires much effort to survive and success.