The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the threat of global warming increases at a fast pace, other viable energy sources such as nuclear power are gaining popularity. Nuclear energy is also used as a weapon of mass destruction. This threat of extinction keeps the peace among countries. Thus, the merits of such technology outweigh it’s pitfalls. I strongly agree with this proposition because nuclear energy does not harm the environment. Additionally, it hinder’s countries from attacking other nations who possess such advanced technology. Nuclear power plants do not generate carbon emissions, which is beneficial for the environment. If such energy sources are not utilized, people will be forced to rely on fossil fuels. This will lead to increased greenhouses gases such as carbon dioxide in the air, resulting in destruction of the ozone layer, which has a detrimental impact on the global temperature. For instance, developing countries such as India which rely on coal for energy contribute more in global warming, compared to Sweden whose population mostly relies on nuclear plants. Furthermore, nuclear power has been used to invent the atomic bomb. This is a weapon which has the ability to kill millions in mere seconds, as well as leave adverse effects on the people who got exposed to it’s radiations. For example, residents of Hiroshima, Japan still suffer from the side effects of a nuclear bomb that exploded almost 100 years ago. This ensures countries do not engage in war, as the consequences can be dire. Conversely, such technology like nuclear bombs have immense power that can be harmful in the wrong hands. To exemplify this point, a nation like Pakistan, where military often overthrows the government holds the power to destroy the world. However, there exist multiple world organizations to keep such countries in check. To conclude, despite the threat of nuclear bombs reaching an unstable nation, I reiterate that the benefits of nuclear energy, which are to use it as a green fuel and maintain world peace, outweigh it’s disadvantages.