An increasing number of larger shopping areas, malls and department stores are leading to the decline of smaller corner shops.What are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping in larger shopping center rather than smaller, more traditional shops? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Ratio of convinence stores in comparison to huge shopping centers are declining. These days, people perfer to buy items from big shopping complexes rather than the local vendors in their vicinity. This has both upside and downside which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. A plethora of benefits which a big mall provides attracts people to shop from it. To begin with, these type of settings provide a comfortable amebience which smaller shops will not be able to match. This includes, proper air conditioning, neat and clean toilets, carts availablity available for elderly, childern and anyone with medical condition and so on. Additionaly, number of options available in eating joints which gives people a range of cuisines to enjoy and adventure zones for kids proves to be attractive package for the whole family. Thus, people will mostly perfer buying from malls than a local shop. On the other hand, shopping at multi store center comes with a few demerits which can not be ignored. Firstly, at places like this, people end up doing a lot of impluse buying which results in unecessary expense for them. They end up buying products which are not only useless for them but are also expensive. Secondly, the items displayed in the malls tend to be sold at higher cost in comparison to local shops in order to recover the cost of services they provide in the mall. For instance, vegetables sold in departmental store will always cost higher in comparison to the local vendor due to their presentation and packaging. Therefore, buying from mall always is not a wise decision. To summarize, there is no doubt that big shopppig centers do provide a lot of comfort to the people especially in today's past moving life which is difficult to replace by smallers small corner shops but increased cost of living is also a matter of concern.