modern communicarion technology having a negative effect on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that various social applications have a range of impacts on our society. Some people argue that this trend has brought negative effects on people's relationships, while others believe that the advancement of communication technology is beneficial to humans' connections. As for me, I totally agree with the former. It is undeniable that communication technologies do have some detrimental influences on our network and relationships. For example, many people enjoy online communication via online apps such as twitter or Whatsapp, which may reduce their opportunities of face-to-face interaction. This might be less likely to strenghten their depth of relationships and trust between them. Furthermore, for young people who prefer to use social media to establish relationships with people, some of them might become shy and nervous when they need to talk to others in real life. However, despite those demerits, most people still benefit greatly from the communication technologies. Initially, one of the most significant advantages is that people can always stay connected with their friends and relatives in spite of geographical distances. They could share their lives and thoughts whenever and wherever they want, no matter how far they are, which helps them tie their bonds together. For example, various platforms such as Wechat, Instagram, and Facebook can strengthen people's relationships by enabling frequent and convenient interactions between them. Video calls are a good example for this. People can not only hear their voice, but also see their faces and their surroundings, which made them feel like they are in a same space, largely reducing people's anxiety of being homesick when they study or work abroad. In conclusion, although there are some problems of merely communication online, we cannot deny the majority of us have benefited enormously from the development of communication technology.