In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this case ? Is this a positive or nrgative development ?

While traditional clothes are only chosen to be worn only on some special occasion, western clothes are becoming the universal clothes which people around the world wear in their daily life. The reason and impacts of the western clothes on global fashion will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Lifestyle of people plays a crucial role in fashion, meaning that people these days tend to wear fashionable or comfortable clothes. For the fashion aspects, traditional clothes are often viewed as old-fashioned clothes, usually worn by the elders, giving a sense of outdated fashion. To demonstrate, if teenagers have to choose the clothes to wear on their special occasion western clothes are often their primary choice. Moreover, people wear western clothes due to its comfortable features which make it more convenient in their daily life by reducing dressing time. For instance, Kimono, Japanese traditional clothes, contain several steps of dressing which could be considered as time consuming for the lifestyle of people in the present time. As a result, people prefer to wear more western clothes than the traditional clothes from their preferences on fashion and features. The changes in clothing and fashion could be seen as a negative development to the culture of non-western countries which deprive the uniqueness of traditional clothes. To elaborate, people all over the world choose to wear the western clothes on formal occasions rather than wearing traditional clothes, making the trends of wearing traditional clothes gradually disappear from society. Furthermore, when there are less people wearing the traditional clothes, the sales of clothes tend to decrease over time which means that there will be less traditional clothes in the market which means the traditional clothes will be only the historical symbol of each country in the future. This could leads to the Globalization in fashion where all people will following the similar western fashion trends. In conclusion, it is evident that there are plethora of reasons leading people to wear more western clothes which create negative development in the cultural aspects of all non-western countries.