The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that the working duration should be shortened and lengthen the weekend duration. This essay agrees that a shorter working week benefits employees and employers. This is caused by tiredness makes employee use their time unproductively and happiness will increase their performance. Firstly, if employees feel tired, they tend to do unproductive things. By this I mean tiredness usually leads to loss of concentration. Therefore, they are likely to leave their work and do something else unrelated to the work. For example, many workers in Indonesia have a habit that they tend to have a chat with others about other things for 1-2 hours before they clock out when they feel tired. However, these unproductive hours can be just eliminated by shortening the working hours, hence the employees will have more free time and the employer does not need to pay them for those unnecessary hours. Secondly, the happiness level of employees will determine their performance. To be more precise, workers who have more free time to have fun will increase their happiness level and this leads to them being willing to work harder makes them have better performance. For instance, some high-earning companies in the United States have less working time by 2 hours for their employees compared to the usual 9 to 5 working hours. As a result, they are happy to work harder and use their time productively instead of complaining about long working hours and procrastinating their tasks. Therefore, the company’s productivity increases a lot. In conclusion, tiredness will lead to unproductive hours and the happiness level of employees determines their performance, it should be better to extend the weekend duration and shorten the working week.