More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer?

A school of thought holds the perception that individuals are now migrating to urban areas in search for greener pastures. The essay will elaborate both the causes and effects that the society might encounter in years to come. On the other hand, scarcity of food nowadays has become a major challenge for the public due to farmers migrating to urban areas for quality livelihood. The major challenge is associated with lack of infrastructures and social amenities in the rural areas. For instance quality education and health for their family. There are numerous solutions to this issue and one is, officials constructing adequate infrastructures and ensuring the farmers are properly taken care off. Another point is poor accessibility of roads and transport to convey the produce to the city. Farmers encounter challenges many times in terms of transporting food items which sometimes decay in the process as a result of delays in transportation, which sometimes makes them work in vain. Another point is farmers being cheated by traders in terms of purchasing the produce, food stuffs are been bought cheaper from the workers and sold at a reasonable prices in the markets to gain more profit than the workers themselves, therefore this act deter them from cultivating again and migrating to the urban areas for greener pasture. There should be fixed prices for food commodities, which should be guided by strict law from the officials. Farmers are not well catered for by the society, social security are not paid which makes them not entitled to pension scheme, therefore they will migrate and look for white coloured jobs for pension to be paid to secure their future. To conclude, factors influencing farmers to migrate to the urban areas are poor infrastructures and social amenities, officials not paying social security, traders purchasing at cheaper prices and poor accessibility to roads. The possible solutions are being elaborated in the essay above.