Some people think that printed books are no longer necessary in this digital era as all writings can be stored electronically. Others think that printed books still play important roles. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that hardcopy materials are no longer essential as the e- books can be stored in the digital machine while others think that they still play vital roles. I believe in advanced level of technology, printed books should not be used. Firstly, printed books helps the reader to use them anywhere globally despite the absence of electricity since they do not use power to function. Most communities especially in the upcountry side prefer buying newspaper compared to watching news online due to power shortage. To support this, in the village of Kwetu in Zambia, increased purchase of local newspaper has been reported for the last five years. Secondly, papers are cost-effective as no extra charge is needed apart from the buying price. This works in favour of people who are of middle class and enables them to save the extra coin. On the other hand, reading on the internet has enabled learners to study online because they can balance family, work and study. They do not have to attend physical classes in order to get access to the learning materials. This has led to effective and smooth learning of their studies at the comfort of their homes. For instance, most students at Florida University preferred attending online classes due to their busy schedule. Further, internet books have option to Google anything that is not understandable as compared to printed papers. For instance, when asked difficult questions by students, tutors just need to type it and an instance answer is received. This has made work easier for modern educators. In conclusion, despite of the many benefits the printed books have, I think they should be abolished and just have e- books used globally.