Nowadays many jobs are more stressful and the working day is longer. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees?

Jobs are becoming increasingly stressful due to numerous reasons including strenious working hours and underemployment. For instance, the NHS is currently experiencing a shortage of staff members, thus forcing healthcare professionals to work for prolonged hours. The demands of being a doctor, such as the constant responsibility of the populations well-being, paired with long working hours undoubtedly increase worry and anxiety. Moreover, the underemployment can be attributed to a decrease working population within a nation, such as China. In the 20th century, the government of China enforced the ' one child policy', consequently leading to an increased elderly population with a small number of citizens to support them. Hence, the majority of institutions in China are understaffed with the employees being overworked in order to support their families. Employers to help: Include rewards for staff who work long, this will help reduce stress and provide for their family. Themselves have to work in shops.