In some countries around the world men and women tend to have their children later in life. Why this happened?What are the effects on society and family life?

There is a trend that the young couples prefer to have children later than former generations in some countries around the world. There is a trend in some countries where young couples prefer to have children later in life compared to previous generations。 This phenomenon is actually inevitable in the context of the changes in modern society, and society could also be affected back by the trend of giving birth late in life.  The rising cost of living and the longer education processes could be the counterpart factors that contribute to the phenomenon. Unlike the living costs in the past, the prices of properties and vehicles have skyrocketed to another level, which is hard to afford by young couples even if they have spent a large proportion of their life in working. What’s more, those material conditions are considered necessary for families to treat children well. These reality financial difficulties make young men and women to lose their confidence in being parents in the early stage in their life, therefore they would consider having children later after financial or career success. Another possible reason is the extended education processes caused by modern society competition. Younger generations are forced to get higher degrees in response to the rising hire standards of companies, and the most significant result of this context is the average age of graduating is getting older. As a result, the ages of having babies are rightly pushed over because young people have to focus on their own lives first after finishing their education. Consequently, some effects emerge due to the phenomenon. The most obvious one would be the ageing problem caused by later maternity which can decrease the labor force in a particular period. To be more specific, long-term speaking, the social welfare system would be affected due to the sliding of labor population in future, because the numbers of taxes payer and the retired population would be unbalanced. However, although the later maternity has some disadvantages, it also has a beneficial side of families. Those older parents can better educate their children with more social experience what can also make more money, sustaining children with better material condition. An equally important benefit is that the life stage of striving for a career is over, and the relative stability of the job gives parents more time and energy to spend with their children.