In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweighthe disadvantages?

Nowadays, many countries face an imbalance of the age ratio of their population, especially when the number of elderly has outnumbered the young age. This situation trigger a debate whether this issue will give more benefits to society or create further problems for the governments. Nonetheless, I would argue that there will be more drawbacks of this situation for some reasons that set out below. Firstly, ageing population means less people want to have babies, meanwhile it is important for a country to keep their number of population does not decrease. Therefore, the government urgently needs to encourage their citizen to get married and have kids. For instance, Korea’s government handles this issue seriously by giving incentives to their citizen every time they get a baby. Secondly, elderly people are not in their productive age which means that there are not enough young people to be workers. By this, I mean the government needed to find solution to keep their number of workers enough to continue their industries and keep their economy stable. For example, it is predicted that China’s economy will experience downfall because there will be not enough worker in the future due to their citizen was limited to have only 1 kid for one family. However, having more elderly people can be an advantage for young people have easier access to get wisdom. They can easily to consult about their problems to their parents and grandparents. But, accessibility to get knowledge is not an issue nowadays, considering there are many books they can read and internet to find any lesson they want to learn. To illustrate, in western country many teenagers get their good mindsets from reading books and find lectures in the internet. In conclusion, the disadvantages that government needs to address from ageing population such as decreasing of number of population and lesser number of productive citizens outweigh the benefit that young people have more access to wisdom which is also invalid.