Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely believed that many people take up Jobs they are not keen on doing and hence lack talent in these fields. There are notable factors influencing such a decision and inevitably have demerits. I will discuss the reasons and effects of the choices made in this essay. To begin with, lack of opportunity in their area of preference and better-paying jobs are the two main reasons people get lured or forced into taking up occupations they abhor. To buttress this, an individual can go into fields they have neither passion nor skills for because it is the only available work to ensure their good living. For example, in Nigeria, research has shown that the overwhelming rate of unemployment has successfully driven most youths into doing work that is not related to the training they originally got from universities. Thus, decreasing productivity from such a working environment. However, as much as this can provide financial stability or the average living standard they seek, individuals lack the contentment others get from doing what they love. That is when people must spend up to 48 hours weekly doing tasks they detest, it can make them constantly unhappy and unfulfilled invariably leading to consistent mental stress. For instance, a well-equipped engineer from a developing country such as Nigeria on arrival to a developed nation like the UK becomes a healthcare assistant which is the most accessible occupation there, in quest to settle and sort family bills. Living on such a decision for a long time will inevitably drain him mentally. In conclusion, many tend to take on occupations outside passions, talents and skills to achieve their desired living standard which adversely affects their health and productivity and hence should be advised against.