Today children are spending much more time watching TV compared to the past. Why do you think this happens? Is this a positive or a negative change?

Nowadays, more and more parents are allowing their children to spend too much time in front of Television. I see this as a result of adults' lack of awareness to the negative impact of too much screen-time for young kids including their health and social development. Therefore, the increasing number of under-age people watching TV has been a down-grade progress in our society. Ideally, parents, teachers, and other responsible adults should know the importance of suitable stimulus for kids. Unfortunately, many failed to understand that there are some medias -in this case television- that bring more harm than benefits to kids especially if it is being given too much. Even worse if no adult is around to guide them while watching. We never know if the show presented is appropriate to their age. As a matter of fact, numerous study has found that the habbit of regulary watching TV for children aged under 13 has caused health problems such as low vision and sedantary lifestyle. Furthermore, this harmful habbit has also influanced how kids interract with their friends. It is known that kids who watch TV more than the maximum screen-time recommended by experts are facing social problem such as insecurity and trouble approaching their friends. To conclude, the uprising case of little kids spending unlimited time in front of TV is caused by parents' little knowledge on the importance of children's screen-time limitation. Personally, I strongly believe that this behavioral change on kids brings more harm than good. For instance, it has caused chidlren's health and social problems. Therefore, adults should be more thoughtful of their kids ' watch-time and find alternatives media that are more beneficial to young kids e.g. drawing books, encyclopedia, interactive board games, etc.