Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be a good member of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people consider children should learn how to be a decent member of society at home, while others consider they should equip those skills at school. I think it’s both of them are important places for children to form their personality and sense of morality. Children can easily imitate their family members’ talking and copy their reactions toward various events. If a father always kicks stray dogs at the park, his child would think that’s normal to treat animals like that. On contrary, if the father saves injured animals and always try his best to cure them, his child might probably do the same thing in the future. Family plays an important role in children ’s life, especially early stage. Before they go to school, home is the place they develop their recognition of right and wrong. In later stage, school provides a more complex environment. There are lot’s of things happen in school life, and that’s the best way to learn how to deal with certain situations. For example, the teacher will teach children do not cheat in tests. Some students keep it while some break it. For those who break the rules, the teacher might talk to them and give them some punishments. In this case, both sides of students will learn their own lessons. For those cheated in test, they might regret the action earlier and find the right way to improve their score; for those not cheated, they would realize the result of cheating and consider the importance of morality. In conclusion, both places are tremendously important for children to learn the skills of being a decent member of society. Home, as a foundation, forms children ’s early stage of personality while school equip them more skills to deal with complex situations. Both of them are not substitutional.