Nowadays museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foreign tourists instead of locals. Why is this happening? WHat can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more?

Many historical sites and museums are mainly visited by tourists instead of locals, what are the causes of this and give solutions. It is true that a number of historical places and museums are primarily visited by travellers from different parts of the country or from abroad. Local people, on the other hand, hardly go to these areas. There are reasons why this is happening, however; the government and teachers can work hand in hand to counter this concern and entice the locals to explore their own historic landmarks. One of the reasons why there is a significant number of local people who do not visit historical sites is that they are used to seeing them. When you have lived in a particular area for a long time, you do not necessarily get interested to explore your own surroundings, for example, areas that embody history. The natives, as a result, choose to either travel in different regions of the country, or even in other foreign nations to see for themselves various historic spots. Moreover, some teachers rarely implement in their lessons learning and exploring about their own heritage sites which led many students to lose interests about these wonderful places. In the Philippines, for instance, a great deal of teachers, in my experience, almost never impart in their learning plans about visiting places rich in history nor do they make plans for excursions. A sad reality that must be stopped. Although local residents hardly ever explore their own historical sites and museums, I believe there are solutions that can be done to increase the number of local visitors in these particular areas. The local government can advertise the beautiful historical locations on various social platforms such as, Instagram, Facebook, or TikTok. More and more people nowadays are engrossed in their mobile phones and are busy scrolling on social media. Doing this, will significantly persuade the residents to come and enjoy their historical locations. In addition, Government and schools must include excursions in their curriculum, by this, students will be widely informed of the beauty of their own history and historic landmarks. To conclude, several historical places are not visited by the local populace, even though this is the case, the government and educational providers can work together to help boost the number of local people exploring their own historical sites.