In their advertising, business nowadays usually emphasise that their productss are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that businesses frequently promote their "new" products in their advertising in recent years. There are a variety of reasons why companies are likely to introduce their new products in this way, and I believe that this is a negative development. Cooperations prefer to promote their products in this way for the following reasons. Firstly, new products always get consumers ' attention. For example, when there are two different versions of products, consumers are willing to choose the new one. Customers are more likely to be attracted by new products which they think it is the better one. Secondly, new products are rather more competitive than old products. In order to expand or main market share, promoting new products is a great market strategy. Thirdly, introducing new products can in some extent boosts companies ' sales. Advertising can help firms to introduce their products in order to stimulate their revenue growth. I would think it is a negative development. In contemporary businesses, the rate of launching new products is extremely fast. As a result of that, there are minor differences between new and old products. Consumers would feel they are conceited, and may result in damage companies' images. They may also buy commodities which they do not need. In addition, new products advertising could increase peer pressure among individuals. Under peer pressure, people are forced to purchase expensive things. In conclusion, companies use advertising to make their new products sell better, and I think that new product advertising encourage consumers to spend their money unreasonably.