Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same job. What problem this causes? What are solution?

In our days, we can observe that many elderly workers compete with young ones in the labour market. This situation is deeply problematic for the general social well-being and require a global solution. This essay will explain what kind of problems this fact represents and how we can try to solve it. One first type of consequences is related to its impact on the job market itself. The mentioned trend make the scarceness of places for new workers increases, producing a problem for new professionals. It can worsen the unemployment indicator and delay the workforce renowal. On the other hand, this phenomenon implicitly produces an increase of the retirement age. If we sum these negative outcomes of the inter-generational competition, can be perfectly expectable a more angry and discontent society, given that we relate the last stage of our lives with enjoyment and jubilee. A possible solution to the first set of effects is to resguard some job offers for young people specially. This can be made via taxes or subsidiarity. Also, it can be accompanied by specific places for senior employees in order to achieve an egalitarian balance. In the second place, a potential strategy for the second group of effects can be some incentives for retirement in order to maintain a reasonable age for this crucial step. This plan can be implemented by public policies. In addition, it would be essential to complement this strategy with an improvement of the money that is paid to retired workers. To sum up, we can see that most negative effects of the inter-generational competition for jobs can be solved, partially at least, with solidarity and public regulations. It is a matter of fact that this scenario can make the unemployment rates higher and discourage the renovation of workforce, producing discontent. Nonetheless, if we build pragmatic and realistic strategies such as those mentioned before, we can expect to avoid worse projections.