The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The movies produced out of Hollywood is the most popular movies in the world. As a result, other countreys' film producers are changing their ways to achieve similar success. To prevent that, the government of these countries should fund their industries to uphold their customs and traditions. I strongly believe this is a necessary step to keep the diversity of cinemas intact. Due to the popularity of The American films, local film makers are producing copycat cinemas, as a result, movies based on local history, tradition and culture are decreasing in number. Producers are pressuring directors to follow a certain formula to please the audience, resulting in movies that promotes western life style. Original scripts that tell the story of the people and their lives, promotes the songs and customs of the land get squashed in the bin as a result. For instance, Padma Nodir Majhi is a Bangladeshi film that was produced in the 90's, which shows the daily lives of the local fishermen, their romances and their struggle in the society and against the climate. Nowadays, this types of movies are impossible to make. To prevent this, the government should take actions as their responsibility is not only to run a country, but also to uphold and guarantee the sustainability of their culture. They should try to solve the obstacles the local industries face. To motivate the stake holders, they should take several initiatives. For example, provide donations for film production that is about local customs, award ceremony such as Oscar that is for local movies can be a great motivator as well. In conclusion, The American film industries are changing the way of cinema making around the world. If government do not step up and provide donations and funds to promote local films, their tradition are at risk of becoming extinct.