Shopping online is becoming popular because of its benefits. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon

It is universally acknowledged that technology has affected diverse aspects of life. Shopping, as a common activity, has been certainly influenced by blessing technological facilities. However, technological facilities have some drawbacks, and the e-commerce is no exception. The following essay will argue the benefits and cons of this new developing activity. To begin with its advantages, in terms of convenience and modernity, online shopping is famed for its simple and state-of-the-art access. In the modern era, contemporary citizens tend to utilize modernized and fast equipment and the e-buying facilities completely meet the mentioned need. In comparison with traditional shopping which requires being physically present in markets, online one does not possess this challenge, and customers can buy products while they are sitting at home. This can cause declining air pollution especially in megacities because it has been observed that almost 30% of commuting in these cities is due to the shopping activity. On the contrary, the drawbacks of it are undeniable. Due to the fact that developing the Internet has been accompanied by cybercrime. To put it differently, customers are able to check the products before buying them in traditional version; while, the online mode does not have this option which makes it untrustworthy; although, there are some pictures of products on the websites, it cannot compare with touching it. Besides, fraud is one of the common crimes where e-commerce simplices it. For example, some online shopping has been established on Instagram, and after the costumer pays for the products, the seller blocked the person and then it would be challenging to arrest this criminal. In conclusion, advancing technology and the Internet have significantly affected people’s life. The e-commerce is one of the most popular activities which can assist not only in private lifestyle but also in solving societies problem. On the other hand, its disadvantages should be taken into account and be cognizant of it.