Some people believe that reading books are better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, children tend to spend a great amount of time watching television or playing video games. Some individuals believe that reading books is much better for them. Personally, I totally agree with this view, since this activity helps children with their cognitive development, language skills, imagination, creativity and social skills. On the one hand, in today's world, youngsters are becoming addicted to TV and video games. In fact, most of them spend way too much time on their mobile devices. As a consequence, they could develop health problems, such as sight problems which are often related to excessive screen time. Moreover, children who spend too much time on technological devices could have fewer social skills than the ones who read. Indeed, those activities are often related to social isolation. On the other hand, reading books brings many advantages to children. To begin with, it helps their cognitive development. In fact, it helps enhance their cognitive skills and improves focus and concentration, while watching TV or playing video games offers less mental stimulation. Furthermore, it helps with language skills. For example, by reading books, children can expand their vocabulary and improve their grammar. Besides, it helps with their creativity and imagination because books allow for imaginative thinking. Also, reading can improve social skills by exploring different characters and various stories. To conclude, I firmly believe that children should read more books because it has many advantages for them, rather than spending all their free time watching television or playing video games.