Nowadays people live longer after they retire. How does this affect indivuals and society? what cana be done about this?

In recent times, there has been increased longevity in people after retirement, which has drawbacks on the society's economy and the families finances. This can be controlled by increasing the retirement age of the population. To begin with, people nowadays live for many years after retirement and require a nation’s financé as well as their families' resources to substain them in later stage. To buttress this, the pension received is not enough for the sustainability of the older population for the unprecedented number of years they live now, and have to depend on the government to fund their care. Also their relatives more often than not invest both their time and money for their care. For instance, in the past 5 years UK has reportedly spent millions of pounds to the running of care homes, resulting in possible shift of funds from other sectors. Furthermore, it is imperative to proffer viable solutions to the problem of increased longevity and the most effective way would be to increase the retirement age of the people. This will enable them to work more and accrue more pensions. For example in 2003, Nigeria adjusted the retirement age of her popluation from 55 years to 68 years hence the older age group have more time to work, more pension to receive and save up for later days. In conclusion, the recent inclination in longevity is affecting most countries' economy and can be put under control by increasing the populations' working age thereby decreasing the period after retirement as well as acquiring more funds from Pension.