Nowadays, children spend too much time watching TV and playing computer games. Some people believe this has negative effects on children's mental abilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's era, the use of technology is exorbitantly increasing. Many people opine that, watching television and playing automated games have a significantly bad impact on children mental capabilities. I strongly agree with this statement. In this essay, I will provide some compelling reasons. These days, children are given access to machinery at a very early age. Parents and teachers play an imperative role in this situation. Introducing and allowing to use desktop to play games rather than playing outdoors or board games and watching cartoons rather than storytelling hampers mental growth. A chief disadvantage of this practice is children not being able to have a face-to-face conversation. In addition to this, it does not foster th e imaginative and creative side of the brain. A study was conducted in a childcare in Ohio where children were provided with a number of objects in a basket and each pupil had to pick one object and create a story by linking it with the previous line recited by another child. This practice encourages mental enhancement leading to the acquisition of proficiencies in areas like creativity and, language. Furthermore, sitting in front of the screen for a long time increases aggression and social anxiety in children. A number of studies have been conducted in this sector. A prime example is a study conducted during COVID-19, where researchers calculated the screen time of children in 24 hours. The children who were binge-watching or playing showed signs of anxiety and depression. In addition to this, some games that children play contain strong violence and coarse language. It is evident that children learn quickly what they see and listen to. In conclusion, spending a major amount of time by looking at movies and playing video games has an obstructive effect on children. The crucial reasons highlighted are access to automation, imaginative barriers, agreession and, social anxiety.