The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, scientific developments are occurring at a great rate but some of them seem not to be helpful for population's lives. Additionally, sometimes scientific innovations are harmful and regretted by those who invented them. This essay will argue that science should never harm public but scientists should aim to further understanding as much as to improve nation's lives. On one hand, there is strong evidence that public good should be the top priority for scientists. They are the ones who have the potential to make discoveries and invent things that can change the world to be a better place. Electricity, modern medicine, telecommunications and the internet are just some of the scientific innovations that changed lives for the better. On the other hand, sometimes scientists do research just for their knowledge, while they should make absolutely sure that their experiments do no harm. They may not know how their project will be used to improve society's lives or harmful until they finish their findings. For example, the scientist Nobel invented dynamite to help with mining, not knowing that it would be used in weapons, Nuclear energy that first aim to be a clean energies but later it used for war, and the scientists who discovered the life-saving drug penicillin did so by chance. In conclusion, science should improve people's lives better and ought to be one of the highest aims. However, knowledge and discoveries are aims in themself and are just important for the scientist. Many times scientists never know that breakthrough innovations will be used until their work is done.