Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children’s story book are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extend do you agree?

Some people believe that it could be better for children to spend less time reading story books for children and more time on other activities because reading these books is wasting their precious time. I mostly disagree with this opinion because of several benefits of reading children's story books such as improving imagination and language abilities. Admittedly, other activities seem to have some benefits. For example, exercising like running and swimming can not only enhance children's physical health but also improve their muscles and agility. Additionally, playing team sports may contribute to building friendships and fostering communication skills, which are generally significant elements to living in our society. However, there are various advantages to reading a child story book. One of these benefits is that reading it may strengthen a child's imagination. Through experiencing numerous childish stories, children can imagine their own unique world and fascinating characters. Furthermore, reading these stories might allow them to feel empathy and empathy for characters in books. This active immersiveness is perhaps hard for them to gain in today's passive platform content like YouTube and TikTok. Another merit of reading stories is that children can improve their linguistic abilities like reading, speaking and writing. Through immersive experiences of such stories, children could learn literary expressions and descriptions, which helps them to express their emotions and ideas more clearly and logically. Additionally, this experience might lead to improving other academic subjects such as math and science. Some Japanese educational studies show that students who prefer to read tend to get higher scores in examinations than others who spend less time reading. In conclusion, reading stories can bring several benefits like improved imagination and better language skills while other activities might also have other advantages. In my opinion, well-balanced engagements would be necessary for children to develop their mental and physical well-being.