Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be?Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Many people have differing views regarding decisions on watching either foreign or local produced movies. There are several reasons why foreign movie is more popular. From my view, government should definitely provide more resources to support local production. Audiences would prefer foreign movies for number of reasons. Firstly of all, large range diversity in movie stories or themes is a great attraction to the audiences. These topics include horrible, threaten, love and scientific fiction. There are plenty of choices for different occasions such as family and friends gathering. In addition, massive amount of budgets are invested on insertion of magnificent graphic effects to enhance scents in the foreign films. It is difficult to see such high quality of editing in local ones. Finally, main characters of foreign movies are usually famous actors and actresses globally, such as Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Cruse. Their supporters and fans would enjoy to watch that movie even though it is not an epic. Thus, These factors are vital for audiences to select foreign movies instead of local movies. However, I believe that numbers of items government can do to support local production. Financial support is one of the vitally important ways encouraging local made movies. Fundings can be utilised for establishing more acting schools and education, so that more professional lessons or courses for young writers, directors and actors. Furthermore, government can also invest on the startup production companies in order to develop the whole industry and compete to foreigns. For instance, competition for full funding of a local made movies is certainly encouraging local production companies. The suggestions mentioned above are the fundamental solutions for the improvement of local movies. In conclusion, audiences prefer foreign films because of various reasons such as movie themes, attractive editing effects and main actors of the movie. Despite the strengths of foreign movies, I do believe that government should provide more resources and investment on different acting courses and local production companies in order to compete to the foreign companies in this sectors.