Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should beto give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What ,in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is argued that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Although, some people think that the true feature of universities should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. I completely agree with the first statement, because these skills will help graduates in their jobs. We are living in a world of technology where everything is changing so fast. We can not exclude working patterns from this list, so we can say that there are lots of competitions in this world. For instance, nowadays, for one job there are lots of people that are competing for it. One clear example is working in a company named “Google”. According to the New York Times, only twenty percent of graduates could work in this company from the USA and there were approximately 1000000 graduates in this country in 2022. From this, we can say that competition for jobs is very hard and for working, graduates need their knowledge and working skills. We totally agree that universities can give these knowledge and skills to their graduates, so I think that universities should provide graduates with these abilities. On the other hand, some people claim that the university will increase only its own value by selling students. I think that this system will not work in every situation, because there are lots of students that can not adapt in different situations. We can take a company called “Google” again for an example. For instance, there is one person that does not have IT skills, but we know that these skills are very important for this company. So, we can totally agree that the employer from this company will not take this person for this job. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account I would agree that the true function of universities is giving knowledge and skills needed in every employmen