as countries gave developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes. why does this happen ? how does this affect society?

In today’s society, it is widely acknowledged that family size is supposedly narrowed due to many factors, especially in developed nations. This phenomenon generates many issues for society. Firstly, the chief contributor for this reduction stems from external factors including economic and profession pressure. Financial burden for raising a child is larger than ever before since human’s living standards are improved significantly. In simple terms, newlyweds can calculate how much finance to nuture their children from infants to become bachelors, so they are more likely to nuture fewer babies than before. Besides, parents are suffered many pressure, they in turn want to leave more inheritances, spend more time on teaching their children and allow their children to follow better education programs. These conditions allow their children can compete in more competitive recruitment market. Secondly, other external factors also contribute to this phenomenon including public’s awareness and medical improvements. Higher levels of education, especially for women, lead to greater awareness of family planning methods and career opportunities, often resulting in delayed childbirth and fewer children. Moreover, parents do not feel the need to have more children to ensure some survive to adulthood since the prevalence of vaccines and medical advancements that prevent and cure some lethal diseases. On the other hand, with smaller family sizes, parents can invest more resources in each child’s education and personal development, potentially leading to a more educated and skilled workforce. As a result, skilled workforce will promote economic growth and can be a underlying factor for the development of science, technology and medicine. Conversely, smaller family sizes are responsible for aging population and economic deflation. A smaller youth population can result in labour shortages, which potentially deters economic growth or evenly deflate economic scale if educated generations cannot automate production processes by applying their knowledge in manufacture and agriculture industry. Consequently, an aging population requires more healthcare and social services and used more resources from society including retirement nurses and national budget. In conclusion, the trend towards smaller family sizes in developed nations is driven by various external factors, such as economic pressures and improvements in public awareness and healthcare. While this trend can lead to a more educated and skilled workforce, potentially boosting economic growth and technological advancements, it also poses challenges such as an aging population and potential labor shortages.