In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the cities is increasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In many nations worldwide, rural residents are relocating themselves to cities, leading to a growing increase in the city population. In my opinion, this could lead to the over population of cities across the world, but could also aid to improve the living conditions of these individuals. Therefore, I wish to state that this is both a positive and negative development. To start off, this transition from rural areas to the cities could cause detrimental harm to the balance of population in the city areas. To my understanding, this could then lead to issues such as increase in the poverty lines, insufficient housing, and also the underdevelopment of the countryside. To further emphasis this, it was seen that during the year 2004, Mumbai saw a dramatic increase in population due to individuals relocating from rural regions, which has lead to a 2.5% increase in the poverty line of the city. Furthermore, there has been a significant decrease in the housing options for locals in Barcelona, due to the transition of people from districts such as Valencia and Sevilla in the year 2011. Hence, up to an extent, I believe that this relocation from the countryside maybe a negative development. However, this change of location could contribute to improving the living conditions of these people. According to my view, this shift to city spaces could help in providing people with better career opportunities, improved housing conditions and also provide better education facilities such as universities for the younger population. To elaborate further, it was seen that when compared to cities such as Yorkshire, London provided its citizens with a myriad of career opportunities in the years 2019 and 2020. Similarly, it was seen that rising football star Lamine Yamal, gained his moment in the limelight once moving to the bustling city of Barcelona from his home town Mataro. In conclusion, this development could lead to the overpopulation of cities globally, while also help enhance the living conditions of people.