Older people choose to spend money on themselves (e.g. on holidays) rather than save money for their children after retirement. Is this a positive or negative development?

Some individuals up in years decide to invest wealth on their personal needs rather than collect money for their youngsters after retirement. However, as far as I am concerned, this approach does not facilitate the growth and development of their offspring’s, nor the optimum base of skills required to thrive in their future chosen career, due to the lack of financial savings that could have been allocated for an easier path to success of their descendants. Needless to say, the children would not be able to have access to the first-rate education programs. Also, without the parents’ appropriate contributions, it’s harder for the child to figure out what their interests, talents and passions are. It cannot be denied that some people think of this behavior to be healthy and right-minded, considering that the elderly worked hard for their capital and would rather relax, loosen up, by spending on their necessities, for instance a holiday in Cyprus. Despite their judgement on the issue, it’s beyond any doubt a selfish and egoistic attitude. Moreover, this idea of placing their wants and needs on top of their son’s or daughter’s is very much going to have a poor effect in their forthcoming adulthood. While it is undeniably wrong to have a mindset as the one discussed in the topic, I obviously agree with travelling and enjoying the monetary outcomes of working. For instance, a trip to hidden and unknown places or at sea, because taking some time for yourself is of course super significant and primary. Furthermore, taking a break once in a while is beneficial and valid, although parents investing in their comfort and not in the future success of their child, is definitely not an example to follow. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with mature people not willing to accumulate finances for the proper education, fact that might cause unravelling the physical and mental potential, as well as interests of their offspring, but rather spending it all on their desires. As a result of their ignorance, the child may be faced with different sorts of impediments.