It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?     Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.   Write at least 250 words.

It is hard to deny that sometimes punishment may hurt children's feelings when they are still young, such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that punishment is not necessary to help children to learn the difference between right and wrong. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factural fallacies and it should be examined particularly. As effectiveness, personal growth and feasibility are concerned, I strongly hold the opinion that punishment is necessary to help children to tell the difference between right and wrong. First and foremost, punishment is the directest way to inform children when they are wrong, as they are still too young to understand some deep lessons. To be specific, a child's brain is not ready to absorb experience given by words, at this time, proper punishment is the best way to make the child remember a lesson. In addition, compared with other ways to teach children, punishment can always leave them much deeper impression, ensuring they will not make it wrong the next time. Furthermore, the fact that receiving punishment from parents or teachers is a good way for children to develop their personalities and resilience indicates that punishment is necessary. Take the case of my little cousin Sara, who is just a five-year-old child among thousands, she was once so naughty that throwing things onto the ground just for fun, in order to change her habit, her parents punished her by not allowing her to eat her favrouite candies for a whole week. As a result, she never throw things again. Had it not been for punishment, Sara would never realise throwing things is wrong so fast. Nevertheless, a voice arises that punishment may hurt children's feelings as they are too young. Ironically, punishment does not mean to punch children or yell at them loudly, instead, the aim of proper punishment is not to frighten children, but using soft and acceptable ways to teach children a lesson. The following comes some good ways of punishment. For parents, not allowing children to enjoy their favourite food, not buying the toys they want for them always leave children a deep impression on the mistakes they made; for teachers, asking children to write down the mistakes after school and apologize for the mistake next day is a good way to teach them good behaviors. In conclusion, to help children learn the difference between right and wrong, punishment is necessary. When taking punishment, children will gradually form their own personalities and resilience.