in many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. some people say an ageing population creates problemds for governments. other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. to what extend do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages.

Life expectancy of human beings is improving in many nations around the world when compared to many years ago. Some individuals are of the opinion that having larger proportions of elderly people will cause more issues to the government. However, this essay will discuss the advantages of having more ageing population in society. It is true that when people live longer, it can be burdensome to the authorities such as a rise in the unemployment rate. Nowadays, many old people emphasize living healthy lives which leads them to be physically and mentally strong and fit even after their retirement age. This is evident with the increasing retirement age in the USA is up to 70 years old. Therefore, some younger generations find it difficult to be hired and also need to compete for a job with senior citizens for higher positions. Although, the joblessness rate in some areas is high due to the working senior citizens, it might not have a negative impact on any community. On the other hand, some believe that having a larger number of older people are actually beneficial for the society by reducing the burden and stress on young couples. Retired parents can help to take care of their grandchildren allowing both the parents to go work, thus saving the day care expenses. Not only that, both parents can work stress-free knowing their children are in good hands fostering a healthy family life and contributing to the well-being of a community. Moreover, many retired people still have their income flowing and good spending power due to their many years of working and they too contribute to the economy flow. In conclusion, having difficulties in finding a job is one of the many drawbacks of the having higher ageing groups but they could also be a great help to family, society and for the nation’s economy. Therefore, I firmly agree that there are great positive impacts to having growing senior people in any nation.