It is believed that people who read a lot of novels develop better imagination and language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that reading stories will help to build greater imaginative skills and enhance language abilities, compared to watching televisions. I strongly disagree with that statement, as in my opinion, people who watch TV will learn to communicate better and broaden their imagination, because TVs programs are produced using modern technology with various special effects, which can trigger one’s wildest imagination, and the audiences can learn languages in several contexts. One of the main reasons why I think watching TV is better is since television programs nowadays are vibrant with eye-capturing images and realistic sounds, which are believed to provide signals for neural development. In order words, when being fed with a burst of visual and sound information, the brain will process them and make new neural connections, aiding the development of imaginative concepts. Moreover, with the recent availability of different channels on the TV, from sci-fi to historical planets, viewers are supplied with various materials for building novel ideas. As a result, those who watch TV can vividly visualize their imagination thanks to the vision provided by sceneries from the Tv programs. In addition, watching TV can also foster language skills because TV programs constitute different contextual situations, from drama, thrillers to documentaries. In other words, each program is scripted and filmed using numerous styles of communication, from educative form of speech to streetstyle slangs. By watching them, it is possible to learn different usages of languages in the appropriate contexts. As well as this, in the contemporary era, TVs programs from all over the world are accessible via the internet. Hence, learning a new language could be more effective by watching a movie than reading books. In conclusion, I strongly advocate that watching TV is more beneficial in term of enhancing ones’ imagination and language capabilities. The available programs have become more realistic and help with brain’s development; moreover, they also come in several style of languages used. In fact, young children should be allowed to watch more educative series which can help them nurture their creativities and improve their linguistic abilities.