Some people think an international car free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution.Others think there are more effective ways do to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent years, air pollution is increasing at an alarming rate. While some feel that an international car free day could reduce the air pollution, I, however, agree with those who feel that other effective options can be used to reduce the polluted elements from air. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will discuss both sides and share my viewpoints with relevant examples. On the one side, it could be argued that international car free day can reduce the carbon footprints drastically. Supporters of this trend believe that preventing the usage of personal cars for a day could reduce the toxic elements from the earth, resulting in breathable air. Take Russia for example, where the government has reserved a day for public transportation and avoid usage of personal cars. This trend has helped them in reducing their air pollution by an unprecedented rate. On the other side, I firmly believe that the carpooling for everyday travel can make the air quality better. For instance, if many people shares a car for their daily commute, they could reduce the emission of toxic air significantly. Moreover, I also feel that the government can promote this trend by giving rebates to those car owners who do carpooling. For instance, the Canadian government often give rebates to car owners who travel with others. In conclusion, although an international car free day can reduce the toxic air from the atmosphere, carpooling could be an alternate that can be used effectively. Therefore, on balance, I strongly believe that we shouldn't limit to the car free days to combat against the air pollution.