Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, various forms of marketing are increasingly popular for businesses to boost their number of consumers. One can assert that it can successfully persuade people to purchase items. However, it can be argued that it is useless to increase the selling rate. In this essay, I would discuss both these views. From my perspective, I agree with this statement to a certain extent. Firstly, advertisements are useful to a certain extent because they help to raise awareness. For example, posters are usually labelled on the wall of the streets, which attracts people’s attention. As a consequence, one can assert that it enables them to be aware of specific products that the posters are advertising. Hence, they are more likely to buy the goods. However, one can argue that it may not necessarily happen to everyone. Some people may often stay indoors, rather than outdoors, and tend to see less advertisements. So they will not be persuaded to consume things. Therefore, although we can deny that they are helpless to increase customers to a certain extent, one can advocate that there are still benefits. Furthermore, advertising is essential because it allows citizens to have more insights into the products. For instance, the advantages of the products are usually written on the advertisements. As a result, people who don’t have sufficient information on the details of the product, can quickly identify the benefits of it to them, who then tend to purchase them. On the other hand, one can refute that there are also disadvantages that individuals themselves have acknowledged beforehand. Thus, they will not change their minds to buy the products after seeing the posters. Consequently, nevertheless, one could question that the number of consumers will not potentially rise, one could claim that it certainly helps to influence consumers’ minds. In conclusion, there are both positive and negative factors of advertising. I personally believe that it can enormously persuade them to buy things as the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. With a widespread of posters, they then would be able to gain more insights about the products.