Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Yes, it is true that in the past time youngsters took decisions with the help of their parents, however nowadays they take decisions by their own. I completely agree with this notion. To begin with, during the past time adults were depended on their parents while taking decisions about their study, career and life. As they lived in joint families, they have emotional connections and bond with their parents and other members of the family. Because they thouht their parents have more experience about the life so they can take better decisions with the help of their parents. For example, in the old days youngsters tend to did arrrange arranged marriages in which their parents select bride or groom so these marriages are long lasting as compared to today's trend. On the other hand, in this modern era youngsters are independent, they take decisions about their study, career and life by their own. As they live in nuclear families, they do not like any interference from their parents in their lives because they think their parents thinking do not match with the modernization, their parents follow the traditional and cultural values while taking important decisions about the life. They even do not like to spend time with their parents because they spend their most of the time on social networking sites. For instance, youngsters tend to do love marriages, as they do not like any kind of interference in their personal life, even they do not take advice from their parents while taking decisions. In a nutshell, the youngsters are independent in the modern world with the effect of western culture, they do not like interference of their parents. I think adults should discuss with their parents while taking important decisions about their study, career and life, it will be helpful for them to take better decisions in any situation of their life.