In the future all cars, busses and trucks will be driveless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The uprising technology has led public to believe that driverless car and bus is not far. This development raises a debate whether the advantages of these autonomous vehicles outweigh its disadvantages. This essay would be exploring the boundaries of benefits and drawbacks of driverless vehicles with reasoned examples. To begin with, there are numerous benefits of having autonomous vehicles like traffic accidents and improved efficiency to reduce the traffic congestion. Primarily, the potential for a significant reduction in the traffic accidents, human errors is responsible for the vast majority of road accidents, and autonomous vehicles could virtually eliminate this risk. Recently studies have shown evidences of reduced traffic incidents with support of automotive companies. Secondly, autonomous vehicles can optimise traffic flow and reduced congestion in cities and on highways. This way cars can communicate with themselves to ensure a smooth, continuous flow of traffic. Moreover, passenger would be free to engage in other activities like working, reading or other work during their journey. On the contrary, there are quite a few dangerous disadvantages such as risk of cybersecurity threats, and negative impacts on jobs. Firstly, autonomous companies save data to improve their products which poses direct risk on their customer with data breach. At the same time it makes driverless cars vulnerable to hacking and eventually disrupting transportation system. For instance, the recent solar flare affects the entire globe creating a economic imbalance, similarly if the everyone in a country owns a driverless vehicles the chances of getting hacked rises significantly. Secondly, having autonomous vehicles will steal jobs from taxi owners and drivers might find themselves out of work, leading to a higher unemployment rate and economic instability. In conclusion, autonomic vehicles are significantly beneficial outweighs the potential disadvantages by humans by saving thousands of lives daily. However, if also poses threats of data breach. To which In my opinion, improved programming in these vehicles can make these vehicles more efficient and safe.