The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undeniably, with the development of science and technology, our planet is being polluted by the green house gas or chemicals released by human beings, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that the vitalest target of science should not be to improve people's lives. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined particularly. As far as efficiency, equality and environment are concerned, I strongly hold that the most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. First and foremost, most of the techniques were invented to improve efficiency. To be specific, if a technology can improve the efficiency of production, workers are no longer required to do the repeative things in a factory, instead, they only need to operate the machines. And high efficiency means workers will have more time of themselves, so they can spend more time enjoying lives, which improve their lives. Furthermore, nowadays many companies are trying to use technology to help the disabled. Take the case of Boston Dynamics, which is a company famous for robots, are trying to develop robotic arms and legs. These products can be equipped by disabled people directly, and they can be easily controled using people's mind, which are just like people's real arms and legs. The company are doing their best to enhance the equality between the disabled and the normal, which will definately improve people's lives. Nevertheless, a voice arises that our environment are polluted "thanks to" the development of science. Ironically, it's science that reduces the release of green house gas and other pollution released by humans. Actually, more and more scientists are doing research about reducing harmful and useless things generated in the process of production, and they have already made some progess. What's more, the biggest company, Apple, claimed that they have reduced 90% of the release of green house gas last year, which is a really exciting news. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the vitalest aim of science should be to improve people's lives, instead of ruining it.