Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subject. Other believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Some academic students present the view that to acquire knowledge about other areas as well as their main subject is important, whereas others believe students should pay attention only to their main discipline. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that learning additional subject give students a good insight to combine their main discipline with other areas. Nowadays, we live in a more complex world than past times. In order to get ready better and more efficient in their jobs in future, students should know about other areas that are related to more or less to their main subject. For instance, these day, software developers must not only have knowledge and skill about programing but also they should know how machinery are operated and how operators manage their jobs in order to develop automations that work efficiently. On the other hand, another group of people claim that a perfect qualification in one single subject is crucial for the success of students in future. They insist that students must pay all their attention and time to their main field of study in order to become expert. They believe that Having Expertise in one main subject is enough to be successful in future. They exemplify scientists such as Einstein who dedicate his life to physics and won a noble prize. However, I do not find this argument convincing as majority of students need to engage with other areas of science these days. In future, jobs and science are going to be extremely related to each other as even we can see a lot of Interdisciplinary majors in universities. To conclude, in my view, students should have wisdom in other fields too. To be familiar with other fields helps them to solve problems easier and prosper in their jobs. Moreover, Interdisciplinary skills opens the door to success.