Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals are of the opinion that college students should only learn one major to attain the qualification as soon as possible. In contrast, others believe that university pupils should learn more than one major during their school years. While both schools of thought are understandable, I firmly agree with the latter view. There are several rationales why students should pay attention to one subject. It is undeniable that investing time, money, and effort in a single field makes the progress of learning and investigating becomes more efficient and effective. As a result, people pursuing this means of learning tend to earn better knowledge and deeper insights regarding their specializations, making them feel less exhausted when chasing a higher degree, such as Master or PhD. Another contribution to this perspective is that one major enables students to apply a work-life balance life, resulting in less strain, and acquiring stable mental and physical health. Not only that, university followers will have a chance to distribute their time to other useful fields, including internship or extracurricular activities, assisting them with an essential skillset and practical experiences. On the other hand, some people may argue conversely. Learning more than one major simultaneously optimizes the productivity due to the assistance and collaboration between those majors. Therefore, boosting the competition of the students and making them earn a more appropriate salary in the future career path. This can be exemplified through the situation when a biotechnology corporation looking for a new employee, they will have a tendency to select an applicant with both chemistry and biology qualifications due to the related bond between these fields, rather than who only have one. Furthermore, following double major undoubtedly expands the pupils’ networking, leading to the fact that not only the social circle but also the range of knowledge will be consolidated and fostered. Having good networking and bonding with people working in the same field can bring long-term benefits for students in their future life, for instance obtaining a proper and well-paid job. In conclusion, even though chasing one or double major all have some particular benefits, I still subscribe to the view that double major plays a more crucial role in terms of job security.