It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

In the current world of globalisation, many local small-scale businesses have been forced to shut down simply because they could not keep up with the multinational companies as well as those operated virtually. If this continues to happen, it would have a drastic impact on the local communities. This essay discusses the detrimental effects of this phenomenon on the local community and generates a number of strategies we can adopt to solve such a problem. This issue would greatly impact the uniqueness of the local town, which is normally represented by the foods or local brand products. For instance, a signature brand of Kampot province is the Kampot pepper. Many local enterprises have been established to produce the different types of peppers. However, when one big foreign business came in, they brought with them a cutting-edge technology and build a massive factory to manufacture similar types of products. As a result, they can sell the products in a lower price, making the local companies bankrupt as their product price is not as competitive as those from the bigger companies. To solve such a problem, I believe, the government has a critical role to play. First, they should limit the number of businesses that focus on special products such as the pepper or durian or any other locally made items. With this strategy, they will be able to monitor the local market situation. Moreover, they can also also provide subsidies to the local venture so as to encourage them to produce more and raise Cambodian brand products to the international stage. This will not only help raise the local economy, but also the Cambodia at the international arena. All in all, it is undeniable that it would be challenging for the local business to compete with multinational cooperates, and with this issue, the local communities would be affected tremendously. One of them would be the fading in local branding. However, the government can solve this problem by creating a quota-based businesses and provide subsidies to the locals to support them.