Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that it is a good idea to demolish aging buildings and homes in urban areas to make place for modern housing complex, while others argue that classic buildings should be preserved. I think both views are valid, but I would argue for the protection of the heritage buildings because each country's culture and way of living is depicted via these kinds of architectural buildings. Modern urban planners believe that the demolishment of old buildings is necessary when they are no longer useful. Sometimes, the construction might be too fragile to dwell on or it is difficult to renovate such kinds of buildings. For instance, the famous "White Building", located in Phnom Penh, was destroyed due to its aging situation. The authority announced that it was no longer safe for people to live in. Therefore, the building was removed and a new and modern apartment was being constructed, and expected to be completed by the end of 2025. The proponent of the classical buildings would argue that it is important that the locals preserve those types of buildings well as it shows the identity of the area. History can be told through these kinds of architectures and designs. To illustrate, the housing complex in Battambang province that showcases the way of life of Cambodian people during the French colony still exists and it helps people, both the local and the tourists, understand the history of that specific town. Not only that it demonstrates the historical features of the area, it would also help attract more tourists to visit the landmarks to learn more about its culture and history. All in all, some people might think that it is crucial that the old buildings should be demolished and replaced with modern apartments, whereas others believe that it is more important to preserve the buildings. In my opinion, I am favor for the latter since it is imperative that a culture and identity of the locals must be protected so that the new generation are fully aware of their origin and culture.