Car ownership has increased rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the past thirty years, car is one of the most popular vehicles around the world. Many people want to have their own car, so the number of car ownership has risen highly and led to be massive big traffic problem. Having said that, I strongly agree with the statement because everybody in this world travels by car almost every day. Because of a comfortability, people like using cars for many activities such as driving to work, travelling, sightseeing, and so on. This is one of the reason to motivate people to buy their own vehicle. Some people believe that having their own car will make a life easier for going. In fact, some cities faced the big traffic jam after car ownership has increased rapidly. For example, London found that a traffic problem makes an air pollution for the city, or people feel very distrub disturbed from a noise of the traffic road. Moreover, some countries have a cost of public transportation more expensive than using their own car especially in South East Asia, Thailand, Vietnam, and so on. This also is one of the factors that lead people to buy a car instead. So, Goverments Governments should consider taking some factors to discourage people from using their own cars. Firstly, a cost of public transportation should not be high and cheaper than oil's cost. Next is a comfortability and fast. If governments can mange this kinds of issue, people will change to use the public transportation. Lastly, a variety of transportations can help people to have more choice of using in order to reduce only car using. In conclusion, there are vital factors that can reduce number of vehicle ownership including cost, time and flexibility. If governments can mange above factors, they can be discourage people to have their own car to use many different transportations. Finally, this will lead to reduce a enormous traffic jam.