In some cities public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegatables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Local inhabitants who live in some urban areas are changing public parks and open spaces into gardens to grow their food and vegetables. Although there are cons, I believe that there are more pros. Let's begin by looking at the disadvantages of growing fruit and vegetables. The most significant disadvantage is that overall appearance of the city, which is considered as a modern and spotless place, will be spoiled as garden activities are quite dirty. For example, there will be dirt and mud on the street as people enter and to leave the gardens or harvest their goods. Additionally, the products might not provide the tranquility and a calm atmosphere because of urban life. Turning to other side of the argument there are positive aspects of growing products. One of the main positives of growing the goods is that the inhabitants need not to buy products which are sold in supermarkets. What I mean by this is that residents can save their money. Secondly, growing fruit and vegetables can improve people's farming skills, and it might invite people to protect their nature. In addition, people can grow plants in gardens in the middle of urban areas can support them mentally, and with their mental illnesses such as depression. Given that gardening is a calm and relaxing activity people can either decompress, and find a new hobby when doing this. To sum up it's true that there are disadvantages of replacing public parks with gardens nonetheless I believe that there are more beneficial aspects of this trend than its negative sides, in terms of health improvement and money saving